Conducted research on automated detection of Fusarium head blight (FHB) damaged wheat kernels. FHB causes yield reductions of up to 50% and crop losses in the U.S. have exceeded $1 billion.
The U.S. Quality Grains Research Consortium

NC-213 Executive Committee


Devin Rose
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
1901 North 21st Street
Lincoln, Nebraska 68588
(402) 472-2802 e-mail:

Vice Chair 

Janie McClurkin Moore
Assistant Professor
Texas A&M University
303B Scoates Hall, 2117 TAMU
College Station, Texas 77843
(979) 458-4944 e-mail:


Deanna Scheff
Research Entomologist
1515 College Avenue
Manhattan, Kansas 66502
(785) 537-5527 e-mail:

Past Chair

Paul Armstrong
Research Agricultural Engineer
1515 College Avenue
Manhattan, Kansas 66502
(785) 776-2728 e-mail:

Industry Advisory Committee Chair

Chuck Hill (2012-Present)
AgReliant Genetics LLC
1173 Woods Lane
Jacksonville, Illinois 62650
(217) 473-6063 e-mail:

Cooperative State Research Service, USDA

Hongda Chen, Ph.D.
1400 Independence Avenue, SW Mail Stop 2220
Washington, DC 20024
(202)402-6497 e-mail:

Administrative Advisor

Gary M. Pierzynski
Asssociate Dean, CFAES Vice President Operating, CFAES

2120 Fyffe Road
106 Agricultural Administration
Columbus, Ohio 43210

(614) 688-5681 e-mail:

The Andersons

Christopher Reed
The Andersons, Inc.
1015 Second Avenue East
Kearney, Nebraska 68847
Office: (419)891-6398

NC-213 Objective Chairs are also a part of the Executive Committee and listed are:

Objective 1:
"To measure, model, and assess factors which influence quality and safety attributes in the post-harvest usage, drying,
handling, and distribution of cereal grains and oilseeds."

Chairs: K.M. Lee, Office of Texas State Chemist, Texas A&M University and Senay Simsek, Purdue

Objective 2:
"To improve management and operational systems to increase efficiency, retain quality, enhance value, and preserve food
safety in the farm-to-user supply chain."

Chairs: Janie McClurkin Moore, Texas A&M University - Kaliramesh Siliveru, Kansas State University.

Objective 3:
"To work with multi-institutional colleagues to improve the cereal grain and oilseed supply chain by creating measurable
impacts that preserve quality, increase value, and maintain food safety / food security."

Chairs: R.P. Kingsly Ambrose, Purdue University and Gretchen Mosher, Iowa State University

Administrative Support

Bill Koshar
The Ohio State University - Wooster Campus

(330) 263-3705 e-mail: